Triangle Trip

Does SPG Cash & Points or Starpoints redemption count towards status?

by Captain G on Dec.28, 2010, under Hotels



As the year comes to an end, many Starwood Preferred Guest (”SPG”) faithfuls are probably looking for ways to retain their status for next year — including me. Since SPG offers two redemption options for its rooms, you’re probably wondering:

Does using SPG Starpoints (to redeem a free room) or the Cash & Points (a combination of SPG Starpoints and cash to book a room) redemption option to reserve a room before the end of the year count toward one’s “number of stays” or “number of nights”?

The answer to both questions is:  No.

SPG treats Starpoint AND Cash & Points redemptions as “Reward” reservations. Hence both redemption options will not help you with your required “stays” or “nights” required to retain your SPG elite status. However, you can still earn Starpoints on other eligible incidental charges during a Cash & Points stay. Below is a quote from SPG’s Terms and Conditions for Cash & Points redemption:

Guest will not receive Starpoints or airline miles for their reservation; therefore, a Cash & Points stay does not qualify as an eligible stay toward earning elite level or toward any promotions requiring nights or stays.

You can also click on this picture to be linked to SPG’s FAQ site regarding this matter.

 
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (11 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...


:, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
No comments for this entry yet...

Leave a Reply

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...